Gotta get up

I absolutely did not want to get up for work this morning. I did not want to get dressed or brush my teeth. Or do my makeup. I did not want to make that one hour-long commute. Of course I begrudgingly did all of those things.

thinking-full

I logged into my computer, signed into Facebook and saw a post by one of my favorite motivators, Donald Miller. Side note: Isn’t it crazy how God (or whoever you believe in) shows you exactly what you need to see in order to give you the push you need? Anyway. The post is called How I Learned to Work When I Didn’t Feel Like It. He wrote about something called an Enneagram. I googled it. Turns out I am a 4, 5 or 6. Well, I’m a little bit of them all, actually.

Type Four: The Individualist
The Sensitive, Introspective Type: Expressive, Dramatic, Self-Absorbed, and Temperamental

Fours are self-aware, sensitive, and reserved. They are emotionally honest, creative, and personal, but can also be moody and self-conscious. Withholding themselves from others due to feeling vulnerable and defective, they can also feel disdainful and exempt from ordinary ways of living. They typically have problems with melancholy, self-indulgence, and self-pity. At their Best: inspired and highly creative, they are able to renew themselves and transform their experiences.
Type Five: The Investigator
The Intense, Cerebral Type: Perceptive, Innovative, Secretive, and Isolated

Fives are alert, insightful, and curious. They are able to concentrate and focus on developing complex ideas and skills. Independent, innovative, and inventive, they can also become preoccupied with their thoughts and imaginary constructs. They become detached, yet high-strung and intense. They typically have problems with eccentricity, nihilism, and isolation. At their Best: visionary pioneers, often ahead of their time, and able to see the world in an entirely new way.
Type Six: The Loyalist
The Committed, Security-Oriented Type: Engaging, Responsible, Anxious, and Suspicious

Sixes are reliable, hard-working, responsible, and trustworthy. Excellent “troubleshooters,” they foresee problems and foster cooperation, but can also become defensive, evasive, and anxious-running on stress while complaining about it. They can be cautious and indecisive, but also reactive, defiant and rebellious. They typically have problems with self-doubt and suspicion. At their Best: internally stable and self-reliant, courageously championing themselves and others.

I found these all to be very interesting. Even more so that I shared something with Donald Miller. But I’m sure many of you go through the same moods and emotions when you’re trying to fight something. So I kept this post in mind while I continued to mope about it being Monday. But then someone included me in a message on Instagram. Sometime last week, I told her about setting an intention for your day. When you change your mindset and speak positively, you inevitably transform your thoughts and actions. Funny how your own words come back to motivate you.

Here’s a little Monday music to get your day started. Happy Monday.

miss lucy

Leave a Reply

