Turn back the hands of time

5543396396_cdd1d07b19_z

“Time can be a greedy thing — sometimes it steals the details for itself.”
― Khaled HosseiniThe Kite Runner

I woke up 35 minutes earlier than my alarm clock this morning. Elated, I rolled over, closed my eyes and attempted to fall back into a deep sleep. Unfortunately, sleep did not come easy. With my eyes closed, I reflected on the weekend.

From working overtime, to spending time with friends to inconveniently losing 18 hours of my day on Saturday, clearly, time was the common theme of the weekend. Most of it was spent wishing I was spending it on something else, somewhere else.

It made me realize how much time we waste on things we cannot control. Things like how people react to us, situations, our thoughts, emotions, fears, and our pasts. We waste so much time mourning over things that do not matter in the grand scheme of our temporary happiness.

The concept of time is always ambiguous; it is not guaranteed. In the blink of an eye, time can and will steal your moments, leaving you longing for a restart button.

Is what you’re doing really worth your limited time?

Are the people and things you freely give your time to worth it?

Since we can’t get back hours, days, and years lost, I think we should start this week off with a fresh new perspective. Yup, that time is gone but this moment is ours. Cheers to a great and productive work week, filled with positive thoughts and pleasant experiences to get us through. 🙂

miss lucy

Leave a Reply

