I smile

Everyone has insecurities, right? Mine might not seem as important to you but the insecurity still remains. One of mine right now is my teeth. It’s so funny because so many people tell me I have nice teeth or a nice smile. But I absolutely abhor my teeth. They are not white or straight. I hate hate hate the spaces in betweenthem and the fact that they seem to be widening with age. I’ve concluded that I do need braces but the mere thought gives me anxiety. Will people call me brace face?! Will I have to stop eating steak?! If I look twelve now, will I look nine with braces?! Will I be able to chew gum?! Will I ever SMILE again?!?! No seriously, these are real concerns of mine. I pride myself in my smile. So the mere thought of not smiling until my teeth are fixed makes me want to faint. I’ve taken to practice smiling with my mouth closed. To smize (smile with your eyes). Meh. I guess.

Anyway, I was really tripping off of the whole thing. I don’t want to stop smiling when I get braces. Smiling makes me happy. One song came to mind and I thought I’d share some of the lyrics with you. If/when I eventually get braces, I’ll have this song on repeat to get me through it.

I Smile – Kirk Franklin

I smile, even though I’m hurt see I smile,
I know God is working so I smile,
Even though I’ve been here for a while
I smile, smile..
it’s so hard to look up when you look down.
Sure would hate to see it when you give up now
You look so much better when you smile, so smile.

         

6 thoughts on “I smile

  1. I think your smile is lovely the way it is, but what matters is how YOU feel about it. You’ll be beautiful whether you opt for the braces or not.

  2. You do have a beautiful smile, and as someone who was in your predicament (my teeth seemed to have shifted with age) I decided to take the plunge & get braces. Although it’s uncomfortable (putting it gently), annoying & I feel super self conscious after eating, I do not regret getting braces (it’s been 1y 3mo). I blogged about the whole process w lots of detailed pics in my style blog (it needs to be updated it though).

  3. You have a great smile! But I can totally understand your insecurity because I’m right there with you. I feel like my teeth are one of the reasons I look 13, (despite the fact I’m only 5’2, but that’s besides the point..lol) they are small and I have that UNFORTUNATE gap inherited from my family. lol but hey, smiling is not something I want to sacrifice. Do what makes you happy. If anything, you’d be a cute brace face 😉

  4. Coming from someone who has had braces not once, but twice— you have a great smile! When I was eight years old I ran into a parked car on my bicycle and cracked all four of my front teeth. After that happened, my already buck teeth were now bucked and cracked. I got called all sorts of names because my mother never made my teeth a priority. I got braces for the first time in college! after they were removed, and I didn’t wear my retainer extra faithfully, my teeth shifted back to their original settings within a few months.. So I saved up a second time, and got braces again just on top instead of top and bottom. Again I get my braces removed and my teeth shift back! I came to my own conclusion that because of the trauma from when I was young my teeth are easily shiftable?? So there I was, still insecure about my teeth and definitely not doing braces again.. I resorted to getting four crowns across the front of my mouth with the top two crowns being sealed together so that my everlasting gap could never ever ever come back again! It was definitely a lot of money wasted with getting braces twice and then the costly crowns..but I tell you smiling with my teeth and not my eyes made it all worth it. I actually get embarrassed when people compliment me on my teeth! I so want to tell them “you just don’t know”! I say all of this to say – you have a beautiful smile and you don’t need to waste your money on braces.. continue to smile and accept those compliments! “You look so much better when you smile” (please excuse all typos – the iPhone was never made for typing)

Leave a Reply

