The truth is…

…I can’t do it all. As much as I’d like to give of myself when an opportunity arises, I’ve realized that I’m wearing myself too thin.

I was reading Funkidivagirl’s post on her lack of blog entries and I felt the SAME way! Not just burnt out but stressed. My life has become a balancing act of responsibility. Oh to be a child again. Well, not really. Being an adult has its perks. But too much going on is starting to become a bad thing for me. Here’s why:

Full Time Job

All my bloggers know that blogging is really a full-time job. To be successful and really good at it, you have to dedicate a lot of time. I often wondered how the people whose blogs I follow find the time to write every single day and it’s always a good post. I found out that many of them do not have traditional day jobs or work for themselves. I tried having a different themed post five days a week and other bloggers told me I was crazy lol. Now I see it as a bit of insanity but I like to keep my readers interested.

Projects

I haaaate being bored. I simply abhor it. So the more things I can find to do, the better it is for me. “Idle hands are the devil’s workshop” is what I used to hear growing up. And there’s so many causes that I’m interested in helping where I can. In the end, I gather too much on my plate. I need to do better at saying NO.

Personal

I love hanging out with my friends. I’m so glad that I have a whole diverse group of friends that I can hang out with at different times for different occasions. The only down fall to having a large diverse group of friends means hanging out….a lot. Which means there’s not much time to sleep. I can sleep when I’m dead, right? But what if I’m speeding up the process? -__-

I don’t have all the answers. Sometimes I need advice from my oh so experienced readers. How do you handle your stressful moments?

2 thoughts on “The truth is…

  1. I don’t have a life-changing answer for you, but I can tell you that I understand exactly how you feel. With a 9 to 5, 3 kids and a mister, friends and family, and as an aspiring entrepreneur, I have an ambitious to do list everyday. I don’t want to neglect anyone or anything that’s important to me. I try to be realistic about what I can get done on any given day, I pause to breathe and have quiet time for listening to my inner voice (prayer and meditation), and I try to focus on the fact that I’m blessed to have such a full life and this is something to be happy about and not stressed about (easier to say, I know).

    Oh, and I say no. Sometimes even when I don’t want to say no, but I try to make sacrifices as appropriate so that I can make progress on my personal endeavors.

Leave a Reply

