Reset your life: day 1 & 2

Day one was to buy a journal to document our journey and to choose a mantra that we can use to empower us.

My mantra is:
Some periods of our growth are so confusing that we don’t even recognize that growth is happening…Those long periods when something inside ourselves seems to be waiting, holding its breath, unsure about what the next step should be, eventually become the periods we wait for, for it is in those periods that we realize that we are being prepared for the next phase of our life and that, in all probability, a new level of the personality is about to be revealed.
Alice Walker

Day two was to conduct a life assessment in the following areas:

1. Lifestyle
2. Work
3. Education
4. Finances
5. Health
6. Family
7. Relationships

I must ask myself these questions:
What do I LOVE about this area of my life?
What do I HATE about it?

1. Lifestyle
I love the peace of mind I have with finally getting my own place again. After moving five times within an 8 month time span, I was more than ready to stop living a nomadic lifestyle. I love Atlanta and the versatility of living in the “suburbs” and hanging out in the city. When I’m out and about, I always have a good time with the company I keep. I just wish I had more time and money to enjoy all that life has to offer.

2. Work
I hate my job but I’m happy to be employed. I lost my job last August and was unemployed until March of this year. It was torture being the sociable person that I am, restricting myself because I didn’t have any money. I don’t like that because of the recession I had to take the first job offered to me. Living to pay my bills is not the ideal life I saw for myself at 25.

3. Education
I absolutely loved my college experience from Kennesaw State University. Go Owls! I didn’t like going to class but I learned so much about life just from my interactions with my peers on campus. I do not look forward to getting a Master’s degree. I feel like it would be a waste for me since it’s not really what I really want but rather what people say I need. When I figure out where I’m really headed in life, I hope it does not involve me going back to school.

4. Finances
Budgeting is really hard for me being that I’m used to giving myself whatever I want. I’m not responsible for anyone so why not treat myself? Unfortunately I’ve had to put myself on a shopping restriction. I’m not where I should be but I’m starting to think of the future.

5. Health
I like going to the doctor but I hate taking my medicine. Because diabetes and heart disease run high on both sides of my family, I’m trying to cute out on harmful food by going organic. I eat fast food sparingly because it’s time to be more cautious of the life I’ve been given.

6. Family
I love my family. That’s what you’re supposed to say, right? Well sometimes your friends can seem more like immediate family. I do love my fam though. I don’t show it because I’m just not an emo kind of girl. I wasn’t raised on hugs and kisses so it feels strange to do that even with my parents. The love is understood. In my opinion, it is better to show love than to just tell someone you love them. I’d do anything for my family. I wish I lived close to the bulk of them back in South Florida. I feel like if my parents hadn’t relocated us here eleven years ago, I’d have a better relationship with all of them.

7. Relationships
I love that I learn the hard way in relationships with men. My closest friends have always been men because I feel that they don’t sugar coat the truth as much as women do. They aren’t afraid to hurt your feelings and that’s what I need. I love that I have a diverse group of friends for every situation, occasion or conversation. I don’t like making the same mistakes over and over again. But that’s just how I learn. Such is life.

Leave a Reply

