Let your light shine

I just came across a post on Twitter that just lifted me up beyond an already excellent Monday (surprise, surprise). In light of a For Colored Girls weekend (which I will blog about later when I can wrap my mind around it all), I think this post speaks directly on several issues within the film. And myself.

I ended the 30 days of truth saying that the phrase “the truth will set you free” is a phrase that speaks loudly in my life right now. This blog post touched exactly on truth and our genuine selves. Something that I believe a lot of people, not just women, struggle with. This post from the blog Black Girl, Cry is amazing.

Here are a few quotes that touched me:

“Until I know who I am, I cannot answer another question.”  I cannot decide the people in my life, I cannot decide my life’s course, my career, not even the clothes that I wear.  We must know who we are.

The moment you get an inkling, a smidget, even the slightest hint as to how much you’re worth, believe it.  Then dig deeper.  And never stop digging.

You wouldn’t believe the amount of people who look to you as an inspiration, or as motivation once you begin to shine.

Read the post for yourself and share it with your best girlfriends. Happy Monday!

3 thoughts on “Let your light shine

  1. Thanks so much for supporting my friend’s blog Luce! I really appreciate it. We are trying to change the way we as women view ourselves. In a way trying to bring accountability back to people. We have to take charge of our own lives and the happiness that we want. Great sharing!

Leave a Reply

