30 days of truth: day nineteen

Day 19 → What do you think of religion? Or what do you think of politics?

Sigh….religion is a TOUGH topic for me because I’m currently in a transition phase with it. I was raised Seventh Day Adventist but I honestly can’t tell you what that really means. I can tell you what most people my age recite: we don’t eat pork, we don’t wear jewelry, we don’t drink alcohol, we’re modest in dress, we don’t go out on Friday nights and we worship on the Sabbath: Saturday. Maybe it’s only me that can recite all of these things without thought. But they are lies. I don’t follow these rules. I like pork bacon and shrimp. Weekly sips of white wine make me happy. I don’t attend church every week. I hang out with my friends on Friday nights. I wear jewelry and will probably get my ears pierced soon. I show my skin every now and again (I’m such an effin lady). But the main point of my drawn out soliloquy, is that despite me breaking all the rules, I love God. He called me to love His people and to treat everyone right. He called me to speak of Him. He called me to live a just life. That’s what I’m doing. I love God. He loves me. Every thing else about religion distracts me. I’m comforted by the fellowship but they can’t save me (salvation is personal). I love my parents but they can’t save me (I will never forget the foundation of their teachings). When We All Get To Heaven, what a day of rejoicing that will be. Read your Bible and follow its command. That’s the short version of how I feel.

Politics: bore me.

Thank you.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

2 thoughts on “30 days of truth: day nineteen

  1. Wow…. ummmm…. religion.
    I love God, and because I love him I will do what he wants ( correction: try hard to do what he wants even though there is cracks in my roads)
    Its funny how people are soooo concentrated in the rules of religion when really its God asking you to follow him and be close to him.
    Look the bible mention the word Christian three times, describing people being like Christ.
    That is what I want to be. Like him. And the awesome thing is that he can help him. However, I have to rely on him because with MY help… I WILL FAIL. Thats a fact not an opinion.
    That means I have to do what he did, follow his every footsteps, and rely on him to do his will.
    SO the moral of the story is… I WANT TO PLEASE HIM! I WANT HIM TO BE PROUD OF ME!
    I’M HIS PRINCESS!!!…<3<3<3<3<3
    Amen…LOLOLOL

  2. Pingback: I am a christian « Miss Lucy's Blog

Leave a Reply

