Sticks and stones

Sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me.

Not only did I grow up and realize that words do actually hurt, clearly thoughts and actions hurt as well.  On September 22, 2010, Tyler Clementi committed suicide after his roommate and another friend released a sex tape of him. You might be wondering why this is news in this day and age where people are making sex tapes left and right. Well, not only was it a sex tape, but one of a homosexual encounter.

After reading the story, I became sick to my stomach with disgust. It is clear that bullying happens outside of the playground. Adults do it too. It baffles me why an 18-year old felt the need to kill himself because of his sexual orientation. It saddens me that he didn’t think that he was not comfortable enough in his own skin and decided that because of cyber bullying, he had nothing else to live for.

His last words to the world on Facebook before he jumped off the George Washington Bridge:

“Jumping off the gw bridge, sorry.”

This incident raises so many questions in my mind.

When will people stop harassing others when the decisions that make do not involve them?

How can we change the outlook of homophobia in America? Or rather, in our schools?

How do we build up self-esteem in our youth so that they can grow up being themselves and not ashamed of it?

Can the use of social media become an advocate for change in cyber bullying?

Living in Atlanta, ranked the gayest city in America, I can’t help but see homosexuality everywhere I go. As someone who cares about people, I have to accept everyone as they are. I don’t have to agree with their lifestyle, especially if it in no way affects my life.

This story literally brings tears to my eyes. I’m so sad for him and the others that took their lives because of the thoughtless actions of others. I feel bad for the two students who posted the video because not only are they facing jail time for invasion of privacy, they have to deal with guilt for the rest of their lives.

For more on this story, click here.

Leave a Reply

