When Your Money is Funny

I’ve always had money issues. I mean, unless you’re a celebrity, who ever has enough of it? Bills are always due. Living paycheck to paycheck has become the norm. Having a side hustle has become necessary to survive. But how much of our money issues do we put on ourselves?

I believe in God and I believe in His word, but I’m not always a do-er or follower of His word. One of those things that has always been a struggle for me is tithing.  Growing up in church, they always recited the same scripture during offertory:

Malachi 3:8-10 (King James Version)

 8Will a man rob God? Yet ye have robbed me. But ye say, Wherein have we robbed thee? In tithes and offerings. 9Ye are cursed with a curse: for ye have robbed me, even this whole nation. 10Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now herewith, saith the LORD of hosts, if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there shall not be room enough to receive it.

I can almost recite this in my sleep. Yet, I have not been a faithful tither in years. No seriously….five plus years. My rationale is that I don’t see how giving tithe benefits anyone else but the pastor and/or conference. I understand that many believe that you will be blessed from giving the mandated 10%, but how proven is that? I have plenty of friends that have always been faithful and are still broke.

My questions are:

Is the purpose of tithing still effective?

How is it beneficial and to whom?

Is it ok to only give offering?

4 thoughts on “When Your Money is Funny

  1. Here is how I see it. People can offer their “10%” in many different way and the ten percent does not alwayf have to be in the form of cash (imo), it can also be giving you time or resources to help anyone that is in need too.

  2. Thanks for commenting Bessie! 🙂

    That’s how I feel as well. I understand a pastor has to eat but I feel like the money has to be an investment as well. Like can we use some of it to create programs that will enable the congregation to go out in the streets and help others? Can we use that money to provide food for the homeless? If everyone is always giving money but I don’t see a real change in the church situation, where is the money going?

    Still struggling with what I’ve been told to do and what I think is best to do.

    Thank you for insight!

  3. I like the idea that 10% isn’t solely based on monetary needs. I really really can understand that concept. it actually makes a lot more sense than the money-driven view.

    I’m like 75% faithful with my monetary tithe but…. I struggle with the same views as you. I mean, I hear other people’s testimonies about how blessed they are but…. nothing amazing has ever happened to me. Do i lack faith? Am i not reaping blessing cause I’m not 100% faithful? IDK. Maybe we see nothing because we lack spiritual understanding. Maybe I’m looking for some big mountain of a miracle in my bank account whilst God is blessing us in other ways with people and/or situations. *shrug* IDK!

    SIDENOTE: Tithe doesn’t necessarily pay the Pastor. Conference and the Local church are majority funded through offering. The tithe is sent out the church to the general conference and is intended to be split between different witnessing initiatives (ie supporting missionaries, adventist publications and media, different ministries and conferences, etc). The problem stems from most people don’t really pay offering and then Churches –> Conferences –> Unions must petition the GC for monies in order to help their portion of the organization stay afloat. Thus, tithe doesn’t 100% do what its ideally supposed to do. In churches where the congregation invests in their church with offering, you can definitely see the difference.

  4. Yea, I know. I didn’t want to go into all of that because then I would base it just on Seventh Day Adventists and many of my readers are not that. And I don’t know how it works in other faiths.

    And that’s why I give offering (sometimes). I know that it will go to the church. Our church members give their everything to tithe but forget that their offering is what is going to help the different ministries within the church. Even when that is stressed (sometimes Haitians just don’t get it lol).

    As far as blessing, maybe I’ve been looking at it all wrong. Maybe God chose not to bless them in monetary ways. The gift of life is blessing enough. We have to struggle because of sin, period. So maybe I have to stop thinking that just because someone tithes, they will be “rich”. Maybe I need to start thinking that their richly possessions have nothing to do with money at all. Hmmm…..

Leave a Reply

